April 4, 2017

Dear AWBD Member,

As you are aware, in 2015 the 84th Legislature considered several bills which would have prohibited or a least undermined certain districts' ability to enter into strategic partnership agreements (SPAs) with area cities. This theme is continuing in the current 85th Legislative Session.

Several of these bills are set to be heard at 2:00 p.m. on Wednesday, April 5, 2017, in the House Land and Resource Management Committee. One of these bills is Representative Dan Huberty's House Bill 424, which prohibits new SPAs executed after September 1, 2017, including limited purposes annexations (the mechanism that allows for sales tax sharing) that many of our member districts enjoy. While this and similar measures being considered on Wednesday will not affect existing SPAs, they will prevent your district from extending the term of your SPA and any new district from reaping the same benefits of an SPA that many of you have enjoyed.

Prior to Wednesday's hearing, it is important the members of the House Land and Resources Committee hear from you regarding your opposition to House Bill 424 and any other bills being heard before the Committee on Wednesday that prohibit new SPAs or impair your district's ability to renew the term of its SPA. Please call or email the following members and voice your concern to any bills that prohibit new SPA or limit the ability of existing districts to extend the term of their existing SPAs.

This is a unique opportunity to directly inform members of the Legislature on an important area for improvement. AWBD is dedicated to preserving the benefits of SPAs which have helped many of our members provide high quality facilities and services while continuing to lower tax rates.

House Land & Resource Committee Members are as follows:

The Honorable Abel Herrero, Chair Email: abel.herrero@house.texas.gov

Phone: (512) 463-0462

The Honorable Cecil Bell, Jr.

Email: cecil.bell@house.texas.gov

Phone: (512) 463-0650

The Honorable Ernest Bailes

Email: ernest.bailes@house.texas.gov

Phone: (512) 463-0570

The Honorable César José Blanco

Email: cesar.blanco@house.texas.gov

Phone: (512) 463-0622

The Honorable Wayne Faircloth

Email: wayne.faircloth@house.texas.gov

Phone: (512) 463-0502

The Honorable Matt Krause

Email: Matt.krause@house.texas.gov

Phone: (512) 463-0562

The Honorable Lynn Stucky

Email: lynn.stucky@house.texas.gov

Phone: (512) 463-0582

Sincerely,

The AWBD Legislative Committee